A Recipe and Exciting News!

Hi all you few people that read my blog! 🙂

I’m currently enjoying a nice glass of wine and some couch time with Nate and thought I pop in to say hello! My first week of training went really well! I ran 7 miles outside in the BITTER COLD! It was 11 degrees when I started and 12 when I finally finished. I was glad to get it done, though, and I’m even more excited for this weekend! It’s supposed to be a high of 50 on Saturday! Woop! My IT band has been tight, but I am working on strengthening my glute-med and doing some extra stretching and rolling.

On Sunday night, I was craving something warm and comforting, so I made miso soup! Here are the three base ingredients I use, and then I add whatever else I’m feeling like for the day.

misosoup

The Hondashi calls for 1 packet per 2 1/2 cups of boiling water. Then I add 1Tbsp of Miso per cup of water. While I’m waiting for the water to boil, I put the dried seaweed in a bowl of cold water and it GROWS! So be careful! You don’t need nearly as much as you think. I didn’t have any tofu on hand, so I boiled some black bean noodles instead for my protein. I added those and some mushrooms and continued to soft-boil until the mushrooms were cooked. I added some green onions and it was ready to go! Once you have your base, you really can add whatever vegetables and proteins you want!

misosoup2

Miso Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 packet Hondashi
  • 2-3 T Miso
  • 2 1/2 c water
  • 1 T dried seaweed
  • 3 baby bella mushrooms
  • 2oz black bean noodles
  • 2 T green onions

Directions:

Boil water. Add 1 packet of hondashi (follow directions on packet for packet-to-water ratios). Add Miso. While boiling, add seaweed to a bowl of cold water. Add mushrooms and cooked black bean noodles to soup stock. Add seaweed once it’s re-hydrated. Soft-boil until mushrooms are cooked. Add green onions and serve!

Now for the exciting news…. I bought my materials to get my ACE Group Exercise Certification!

ACEIn order to teach classes at the gym I currently work at, I have to have my Group Ex Cert. I have been there 10 months and I am finally ready to commit to studying and taking the test. Honestly, I haven’t done it because I simply was SCARED. I am scared I am going to fail the test! I am excited that I finally took the step and I hope I am teaching classes very SOON!

I also bought some amazing Brooks socks at Marshall’s yesterday!

brookssocksThe training socks on the left were only $5.99 and the race day ones were $4.99!

Well, I am about to dominate some Chicken Enchilada Soup! I should probably share that recipe too. Maybe next Tuesday. Oh, here are my workouts this week:

Monday – 4 miles, 3 rounds of: 50 squat with cable row, 50 kb swings, 50 plate switches, 50 jack press

Tuesday – Back and Biceps, 40 min cycle

Wednesday – 4-5 miles speedwork

Thursday – Pilates and 2 mile easy run

Friday – swim 1 mile

Saturday – 7 mile run

Alright, I’m out! Have a great night! xo, Maren

Leave a Reply

