Blend Retreat Day 1

Hi all! I am so excited to share my weekend in Park City, Utah at the 2013 Blend Retreat! First of all, I need to shout THANK YOU!!! at the top of my lungs to Janetha, Lindsay, and Katie (and their friends and fam) for all of their ridiculously hard work. Without them busting their booties, Blend never would have been so amazing! Anyway, I am going to do this in 3 posts so it’s not so long. Plus I have a very small attention span, so yea.

Amber and I woke up at like 3 something to catch our 6am flight out of Omaha! We drove to Omaha the night before and stayed at our friend’s house so we didn’t have to leave at like 1am. When we got to the airport, we met up with Amanda who lives in Lincoln!

Amber and I excited to leave Omaha

Amber and I excited to leave Omaha

We landed in Salt Lake City around 7:30am (they’re an hour behind us) picked up our bags and then went to go get our rental car. I ended up getting a Nissan Rogue. It wasn’t too bad, but the non-tinted windows drove me nuts πŸ˜‰

Our ride for the weekend

Our ride for the weekend

We were all starving so I took to my Urbanspoon App on my phone and the first thing that popped up was Penny Ann’s Cafe! We thought the menu looked good and it was super close to the airport, so we headed that way. When we pulled up, we saw that it was in an apartment building, but the entryway was cute, so we went on in!

Penny Ann's

We were greeted by a SUPER friendly waiter and some coffee right away. We all looked over the menu and I decided to go with an omelet. There is not a single restaurant in Grand Island that serves avocado with their omelets. I was seriously in heaven! I’ve also gotten dirty looks when I ask for egg whites. The server didn’t think two things of it! It was awesome!

Egg white veggie omelet

Egg white veggie omelet

I got to choose 5 different toppings to put in my omelet. I don’t remember what I all chose, but the combo was perfect! The potato things on the other hand were not very good. They had like no flavor! I was bummed!

After we ate, I called CandiceΒ (after creepin on the Blend fb page for her number)Β and we met up with her and Meg to go get pedicures!

Our pretty toes!

Our pretty toes!

(Candice’s pic)

After we got our toes done, it was GPP time! I can’t even describe how excited I was to FINALLY get to go to the GPP gym! I have been following (sort of) their workouts for a long time! On the agenda for the day was the BAT Medley. Crazy because I actually did this workout last fall when they posted it on Halloween!

GPP!!

GPP!!

Inside the gym

Inside the gym

We started the workout promptly at noon and Neil Anderson, the owner, led the class. I was so excited to finally meet him! I seriously felt like I already knew him since I’ve watched so many of their demonstration videos and seen him on Janetha’s blog so much!

Neil

After the workout, we headed to Park City to the Hyatt Escala Lodge to check in! And wow, is this place amazing!

Hyatt Escala Lodge

Hyatt Escala Lodge

(Hyatt’s facebook picture)

They were having a happy hour sponsored by Attune Foods and some Justin’s Nut Butter to top on our amazing graham crackers from Attune so we went and checked in super quick and then came back down to meet some chicks! From the second I walked in, I was lookin for my girl Janetha! Finally when we got back down I spotted her! I wish I could have had a picture because I think it was the biggest hug I’ve ever had in my life! I was SO SO SO excited to meet Janetha finally in person! She has been SUCH an inspiration to me over the past 3+ years! Everything I know about healthy living is because of her…seriously.

Janetha and me!!!

Janetha and me!!!

Ahhh so happy πŸ™‚ After the snack break, we went upstairs and got ready for the cocktail hour. Amber and I both brought super dressy clothes and I was so excited to get all dazzled up since we don’t really get to do that EVER in GI!

Amber and me

Amber and me

The cocktail hour was hosted by Silk! They made some awesome cocktails (so I heard) but since there was cab, I was all over that! I can’t help my wine addiction πŸ˜‰ Amber and I hooked up with our new friend Paula! She is a total Cali (Valley) girl that has the biggest heart! Love this girl times a million!! xoxo Can’t wait til Amber and I can go visit her!!

Amber, Paula, and me

Amber, Paula, and me

(Paula’s pic)

They had tons of veggies, spring rolls, blackbean burgers (the bomb) and peanut sauce! I loved it all

My appetizers and of course wine

My appetizers and of course wine

After the cocktail hour, we headed to the Blend Dinner! The hotel served us a buffet of all sorts of goodies! There was halibut, chicken, quinoa burgers with mushrooms and sauce, bulgur wheat salad, lettuce salad, etc.

Neil, the owner of GPP, and me!

The buffet line

But the best part was of course the dessert!! I knew it all had dairy in it and I was SO incredibly full, but I had to try the tarts!

Our dessert options

Our dessert options

(Paula’s picture)

After dessert and being uncomfortably full, Amber and I headed back up to our room to check out our swag!! We didn’t really have time to go through it before, so instead of going to bed like we should have, we stayed up and went through all of it. I seriously felt SO spoiled! I cannot believe how many amazing companies supported the blend retreat! The picture below is seriously only half of it!

SWAG

We finally hit the beds about 10 pm (11 our time). We had to get a good night’s sleep before our 7 am bootcamp!

Stay tuned for Part 2!

xoxo, Maren

16 thoughts on “Blend Retreat Day 1

    • Thanks love!!! Miss you and love you so much too!!! Hope you are getting all packed up this week and that you aren’t too stressed out. You will have to keep me posted on the job front πŸ™‚

  1. I saw you around all weekend, but we really never got to hang out, sorry about that!! It was so busy for such a relaxing weekend!! :0) I’m excited to read more now that I know you though!

    • haha YES! Nate said the reason we couldn’t get up to speed was definitely because of the elevation, but the reason I jumped to 100mph was because I am careless and wasn’t watching the speedometer lol!

  2. AHHHH! This post had me grinning ear to ear! And it also made me cry–the part about me. I love you SO MUCH! It was the best weekend ever because I got to finally meet you. And hells yes, blog.

    • awwww!!! It seriously made my whole life to meet you! It was seriously the best weekend ever. Wish we could have spent more time together. Maybe we can get together another time someday when you aren’t so stressed/busy!! xoxoxo

  3. Pingback: BLEND Retreat 2013 | Run.Fit.Kin.

  4. Love that you had an omelet with avocado – I probably have some everyday here in California but missed them when I lived in North Carolina. So glad we got to talk… while in line for omelets!

    • That was the only avocado I got and I was having withdrawals when I got home!! I don’t even care how much I have to spend for them here in NE. They are totally worth it to me!! Yes, it was so nice chatting with you too while we waited FOREVER πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

